Can you embed Threads in Medium like you can Tweets?

A short investigation.

virgil.alonso
2 min readJul 7, 2023
My actual Threads Post embed code I was trying to get to work.

TL;DR — NO.

So Threads by Meta is the hip, new, and trending social media app all of the kids are playing on (myself included). In its current state, Threads might have limited use in my marketing strategies. But I am running all kinds of experiments to see how I can maximize the utility of Threads.

When you visit Threads in the browser, you can click on the three-dot menu in the top right of the post and grab an embed code.

Unfortunately, this does not work with Medium just yet. Embeds on Medium use Embed.ly and until Threads gets added to Embed.ly, it won’t work. Below, I will attempt to use the embed feature using the “Copy Link” settings. If you can see the above thread not just as a link but as embedded content, then we have support!

https://www.threads.net/t/CuX94e0rf8A/

Where does it work?

I have a Ko-Fi account, and when I try posting the embed code in a Ko-Fi blog post update, it looks like it wants to work, but it can’t.

Where it does work for me is Squarespace. If you use the Embed block in version 7.1 and you use the Code Snippet option, Threads will embed perfectly.

When you do paste the code snippet, it might not look like it will work immediately, but once you actually get around to publishing the page, it will work seamlessly. Check out the blog test here.

Is anybody else having fun with Threads? I think the novelty will wear off in a week for me, and then after that, I will begin to ignore it as a whole. I have notifications on for tags and responses to my Threads, but that is about it. Would love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

--

--

virgil.alonso

I’m doing a lot of pf photography right now. Who knows what I will be doing tomorrow? Topics I write about will vary. :) www.photoverge.studio/links